I am sure the majority of the people reading the site have either built or are planning on building an airplane in their garage, basement or hanger with the majority of these airplanes being of the Vans RV series. As many builders know there are several decisions that need to be made before and during the build process. As I sit here getting ready to embark on this build I’m confronted with thousands of decisions. It is actually quite overwhelming as the foundation of knowledge is not present. In other words “I don’t even know what I don’t know yet.” Kinda like the feeling I had on the first day of medical school. I guess the biggest initial decision to be made is to prime or not to prime. I have already made the decision to prime this aircraft in the hopes of providing my son and grandson an enjoyable aircraft even if it’s 40 years old. Now the type of primer to use is the big question. I won’t even ask for anybody’s opinion as I know I will receive 11 opinions from 10 people. My main objective is low toxicity, ease-of-use, and durability. As of right now I am favoring the SEM Self etching primer.  Then all I have to decide is green or grey?
  Seems like this decision process is never going to end!!!!

