Time worked: 8hr

This was a great few days to get a lot done on the horizontal stabilizer. I prepared all of the parts are using a 3M Scotch-Brite pad and acetone to clean them all the parts were then primed with the Azko primer that I used on the vertical stab and rudder.  One thing I don’t understand is why vans initially has you prime and rivet certain parts together which would then later be further drilled and countersunk exposing many areas that were previously primed.  It took a little bit more planning and hassle to do all of the parts at once but I think it was a much better outcome.


I labeled all the parts and made sure that after priming they would not get mixed up as the match drilling is very critical to maintaining good alignment


In the paint booth ready for painting


Front spars riveted.  The front spar used almost every variation of a rivet.

